Minnesota Law

Fall 2022
Faculty Focus

Faculty News, Awards, & Grants

Prof. Wolf Part of Two Grant-Winning Teams

Professor Susan M. Wolf is a member of two teams that were recently awarded major grants: The National Science Foundation awarded Wolf and her team a major new grant to fund ground-breaking work on the ethics of large, multidisciplinary engineering research networks. Innovative research is now often conducted by multidisciplinary and often multi-institutional research teams. 

Wolf and her colleagues were awarded a five-year grant from The National Institutes of Health on “Minnesota Precision Medicine CKD & Resilient Diabetes Recruiting Site: Engagement, Enrollment & Ethics.” 

Wolf is a Regents Professor; McKnight Presidential Professor of Law, Medicine & Public Policy; Faegre Baker Daniels Professor of Law; and Professor of Medicine. She the chair of the Consortium on Law and Values in Health, Environment & the Life Sciences. 

Prof. JaneAnne Murray Elected to Board of NACDL

Associate Clinical Professor of Practice JaneAnne Murray was elected to serve on the board of directors of the National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers (NACDL) at the association’s annual meeting. 

Founded in 1958, NACDL is dedicated to advancing the mission of the criminal defense bar to ensure justice and due process for persons accused of crime or wrongdoing. 

Dean Jenkins Joins the Board of the National Women’s Law Center

Garry W. Jenkins, dean and William S. Pattee Professor of Law, has joined the board of directors of the National Women’s Law Center. The non-profit organization, based in Washington, DC, fights for gender justice—in the courts, public policy, and society— working across the issues that are central to the lives of women and girls. 

NWLC uses the law to change culture, drive solutions to the gender inequity that shapes society, and break down the barriers that harm all people, especially women of color, LGBTQ communities, and low- income women and families. 

Prof. Matheson Recognized for LCL Service

Professor John Matheson, who served two terms on the Lawyers Concerned for Lawyers, Minnesota Board of Directors, received the 2022 Fred Allen Distinguished Service Award in recognition of his exceptional service to others and his dedication to strengthening the endurance and principles of LCL. 

Prof. Kritzer Receives Prize for Empirical Scholarship

Professor Emeritus Herbert M. Kritzer received the Law & Society Association's Harry J. Kalven, Jr. Prize for empirical scholarship and the advancement of research in law. 

Founded in 1964, the Law and Society Association (LSA) is a group of scholars from many fields and countries who share a common interest in the place of law in social, political, economic, and cultural life. It is one of the leading professional associations for those interested in the sociology of law. 

Prof. Zamoff Named Assistant Dean of Experiential Education

Professor Mitchell E. Zamoff was appointed Minnesota Law’s inaugural assistant dean of experiential education. 

In the newly created role, Zamoff brings leadership and coordination to the Law School’s curriculum and programs to enhance and enrich the experiential education program at the Law School (exclud- ing law clinics). His area includes Law in Practice, legal writing, moot court, mock trial, litigation and transactional skills courses, andfield placement programs. 

Zamoff is the J. Stewart and Mario Thomas McClendon Professor in Law and Alternative Dispute Resolution Clinical Professor of Law. 

Prof. Dewey Appointed Associate Librarian

Professor Scott Dewey, faculty research librarian, received a promotion and continuous appointment as associate librarian. 

Dewey specializes in faculty research support, providing in-depth research assistance to the Law School faculty. He also works closely with the Minnesota Law Review and provides other reference services to the Law School community. His research interests include environmental law and policy, criminal law and procedure, juvenile dependency, legal history and the history of legal education, the evolution of legal precedent, citation analysis, and the politics and sociology of legal and scholarly reputation and authority. 

Earlier this year, Dewey was the featured speaker at the annual meeting of the Wisconsin Labor History Society where he spoke on the historical efforts that working-class people have made to organize and fight for a cleaner environment. 

Prof. Meili Promoted to Full Professor, Named Director of Law Clinics

Steve Meili has been elevated to rank of full professor and been appointed director of law clinics. 

Meili, the James H. Michael Chair in International Human Rights Law, joined the Law School in 2008 and became a tenured associate professor in 2018. He previously held the James H. Binger Professorship in Clinical Law (awarded in 2019). He writes and teaches about the rights of noncitizens, particularly those seeking asylum. He is also director of the Law School’s Immigration and Human Rights Clinic, where students represent asylum seekers and trafficking victims in various immigration and appellate court proceedings. 

Meili’s role as director of Law Clinics began last summer. The Law School has more than 25 law clinics in a wide variety of legal areas 

Dean Jenkins Recognized with Diversity and Inclusion Award 

Garry W. Jenkins, dean and William S. Pattee Professor of Law, was honored by Minnesota Lawyer with a Diversity and Inclusion Award. 

The award is for groups and individuals who have made a significant impact with respect to diversity and inclusion on the greater community or within their organizations. Recipients were honored at an awards celebration on October 5. 

The Law School has made significant strides in the areas of diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) during Jenkins’ six years as dean, including welcoming three consecutive classes with a record level of diversity, implementing a number of DEI initiatives, and expanding the Law School’s racial justice programing.